Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that there certainly both pros and cons of wholelly following others' advice. While some people believe that youngsters depended too much on thier parents 100 years ago than people in today do, some people may think that actually they were more independent than nowaday children are. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely agree with the former opinion, and in which follows I will elaborate on my viewpoint.

To begin with, nowaday, thanks to internet, young people have way more access to information, which can help them to make their minds. The last few decades, technology is growing at a fast pace, and our daily life is influenced as well. Not only our lifestyles are effected, but also our information gathering is dramatically affected. Sometimes it can be hard to ask certain things from your parents, and my personal experience can support this claim. When I was a teenager, I was so ashamed of asking my mother to how to cope with my very first period. Thus, I searched in Internet, and joined online platform to ask question about struggles, and got useful feedbacks and advices. In result, it really helped me to to deal with certain problems, and choose what kind of products to use. This certainly clear to see why I think in this way.

Secondly, communties, schools and university adminstrations, and privite instituitions are offeriong professional advice -parents do not have a ability to provide - for youngsters in various fields. Sometimes, only profesionals can guide us to certain things that requires specific certificates and deep knowladges. Drawing from my personal experience as a senior in a high school. Ever since I was I child, I was always wanted to study in Japan. Therefore, deciding which university to go and my major was such a hard for me. It was even harder for my parents who are do not have a further background knowledge about japan and studing aboard. At that time, my high school counsuler who specilized in this matter helped me a lot.

In short, all aforementioned reasons lead us to draw the conclusion that young people are partly influenced by their parents in deciso making. It is mainly due to the fact that they can attain any infromation in internet, and can get professional helps from various institutions.