Do you agree or disagree with the following statement In the past young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives Use specific reasons and examples to su

Personally, I have an positive opinion toward the statement that young people nowadays depend on themselves to make decisions about how to live their lives than young people in old days. I feel this way for several reasons and will explore them in the following essay.

On one hand, modern people are able to get much more information than those who live in the past. Thanks to fast technology development today, lots of precious online materials are available and accessible on the Internet. The only thing we need to do is turning on phones or computers, opening browers, and searching for them. These online materials make us able to learn topics that are not taught in class. So we will have the ability to distinguish the good things from the bad ones and make our mind easily.

On the other hand, there is a main trend in the present that encouraging parents to let children make decisions by their own. Therefore, children can control their lives since they were little kids. As time went by, people who grow under this kind of circumstance will tend to be more self-confident and independent. No matter the scale of the decision, they tend to decide without asking for advices from parents.

One more important thing to notice is that young people now have lots of resources and time to take an adventure. When it dates back to the ancient time, people need to dedicate all of their time into developing special skills quickly to survive. However, people nowadays usually do not need to worry about this until they are graduated from school. As a result, lots of time can be invested into learning something new from unfamiliar domains. People can find out their interest and make many associated decisions.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that youths today have more control toward their own lives than young people in the past. As what I have discussed above, we have more resources and time to dig out our true desires and make confident decisions. Moreover, parents try hard to avoid interrupting our self-development process by encouraging us to determine everything ourselves.