Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People are never satisfied with what they have; they always want something more or something different. Use specific reasons to support your answer

Everybody has their own way of living a fulfilled life. Some people feel content with what they have and don’t wish for anything more in life. However, considering today’s scenario, I contend that there are more people these days who are never satisfied. Moreover, they always want to achieve something more in life. I feel this way due to the following reasons.

To begin with, today, the people’s desire to have more in life is a sense of progress. Gone are the days when the public just used to earn for their living and was pacified with what they had. My brother-in-law demonstrates a good example for this. He had an Indian passport. He perused his medical education in UK and had a successful career as an exemplified renowned cardiac surgeon. Eventually earning a British passport, he moved to India followed by migrating to Dubai to explore his efficiency in different country’s surgical unit set up. Apparently, he is still challenging his abilities by seeking PhD is pediatric cardiac surgery. He defines this strive to be his sense of progress. On the other hand, my father-in-law who was a famous physician in India dedicated his life to serve the low socioeconomic population in his rural home town. He was comfortable with his extent of practice and never tried to explore his personal career opportunities which dictates that feel of satisfaction impedes the spur of advancement in life.

In addition to this, a wish to have something more in life gives a sense of happiness, whereas, having a same lifestyle for long time could be a stereotype and monotonous. Working towards achieving more can make life exciting and meaningful. Take me for example. Couple of years back I had a perfect life of luxury. I am well-educated, have a sound bank balance, huge legacy, happy family, but I was still not happy from inside. Failure to have any aim in life was pulling me towards boredom and depression. On my husband’s suggestion, I commenced to work for my super speciality and seek licence to practice in US. Undoubtedly, I enjoy studying and feel refreshed to spend quality time with family after that. The desire to strive for more gives me ray of hope and encouragement.

To recapitulate, I am of the opinion that people these days always want something more in life. This is because the wish to have more, gives them a feel of thrive and happiness and make their life more meaningful.