Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People now can better protect the environment than they could in the past.

According to my own experience, I agree that people nowadays can better preserve our environment. My reasons are as follows.

First, nowadays, more and more scientific discoveries have been unveiled, and these knowledge can help people protect the environment. For instance, ten years ago scientists discovered that CFCs is the direct culprit of the ozone hole. Thus, lawmakers and politicians from around the world learned the concept and enacted laws and policies that prohibited the use of CFCs. Consequently, thanks to the science knowledge, the hole is becoming smaller and smaller. However, fifty years ago people do not know much about science, so even if people are conscious about our environment, they might do the wrong think. Take my grandpa as an example, my grandfather is a farmer, and once he thought that pesticides are environmental friendly. Thus, he kept using them in his farm. It was not until recently did he realized that the truth was the opposite.

Secondly, people are getting richer and richer, and having more money means that people can buy more economically friendly commodities. Take me as an example. I was born in a wealthy family, and I can contribute to environment protection by purchasing expensive yet eco-friendly merchandises, such as renewable utensils. Moreover, I have enough money to buy organic vegan food and consume them every day. In the long run, I am able to save lots of carbon emission by adopting a healthy, vegan lifestyle. Nevertheless, my country is still a developing one 50 years ago, and most people have problem procuring clean water and fresh food, not to mention caring about our nature, so generally they care less about the nature.

Finally, technology help people become more conscious about environmental preservation. To elaborate, Taiwanese government held several events regarding environmental protection to raise public awareness of the issue. Thanks to the media and social platforms, more and more people become aware that such events exists. For instance, my government once held an environmental protection activity called "National Eco-Friendly Day". Parent can bring their children together and do things that change the current environmental situation, such as cleaning trashes on beaches, plant trees, and recycling. As a result, more and more people become more aware about Mother Nature. Nonetheless, in the past, people did not have access to the internet, and they are not properly informed about environmental protection activities. In other words, the absent of Internet makes people care less about our nature in the past.

In conclusion, I agree that people can better preserve Mother Earth than people in the past. This is because modern people are rich, become more aware of environmental problems, and have access to advanced scientific knowledge.