Do you agree or disagree with the following statement People should buy the products made in their own country

With the prosperity of the free trade market nowadays, some people pursue purchasing exotic products in various countries. However, some people insist on buying merchandise from their own countries. As for me, I disagree that people should purchase products from their country. That is, people should consume everything they want without any constraint on local buying.

First of all, people can purchase various exotic things without any limitations. It is an example of my friend, Peter, who bought his necessities in the foreign store, Jason market. At Jason’s, Peter always bought kiwis from New Zealand, red wines from France, and other food and drinks made from different countries. Moreover, by purchasing exotic food freely, he even had an opportunity to try the Blin pancake, a traditional snack in Russia. Therefore, consuming without any local buying limitations really allowed Peter to try more dishes and food made in foreign countries.

Secondly, people can easily consume at a bargain price with no rules for buying local-made products. For instance, as a resident of a freetrade island, I could purchase clothes and shoes without any buying restrictions. Compared to 1000 USD of made-in-Taiwan suits, I always chose to buy suits from China, which cost only 100 USD. Additionally, when I needed a closet, I ordered a British closet which was 30 USD cheaper than the closet made in Taiwan. Consequently, it was really economical for me to buy in such a free trade market.

In contrast, the restriction on making people buy local merchandise may sometimes cause serious monopoly problems. With this restriction, some product prices may soar since the number of people’s needs outweighs the number of products. For example, when the Taiwanese government forced Taiwanese people to buy made-in-Taiwan masks during the COVID-19 pandemic, each mask cost from 1 USD to 30 USD due to large people’s needs. Furthermore, some merchants even monopolize the mask market, setting an exorbitant price for the mask. Hence, the buy-local policy brought nothing but price chaos to the mask markets.

In conclusion, I hold the profound conviction that people do not need to purchase products made in their own countries. After all, with no limit on local-buying, not only can people enjoy various products from different cultures but they can also consume them at a bargain price.