Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Plastic bags are terrible for the environment. They should be banned everywhere.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shortage of debates, bags made of polyethylene, which are damaging our habitat, should be prohibited around the globe. Personally, I completely agree with the idea that the legal banning of plastic bags and containers would assist humanity to save the planet Earth. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in my following essay.

To begin with, plastic bags never degrade completely, compared to eco-friendly supplies. It is evident that the more of these bags are produced by leading companies, more are introduced to our environment, which in turn, increases the amount of plastic pollution and its effects. To exemplify this, a 2021 research shows that plastic waste buried in 1980, has not broken down during the period of more than 40 years and this clearly illustrates the trouble that expects humanity in the future if petroleum-based bags will keep on producing. In addition, the debris of the buried plastic bags were found to be scattered in to pieces and washed out to the ocean, where marine animals are endangered to ingest them. In other words, by phasing out single-use plastics, not only the effects of plastic contamination will notably decline, but also the risk of sea animals going extinct will decrease.

Secondly, plastic bag bans can help to reduce toxic fumes. It is obvious that the incineration of plastic waste in open fields is a major source of air pollution because it releases toxic gases such as dioxins into the atmosphere. For instance, according to the study, up to 12 per cent of most solid waste is made up of plastic of different kinds, and about 40 per cent of world’s garbage is burned which is enough information to envision the pollution released into the atmosphere. Moreover, the released toxins end up settling on crops and waterways, consequently entering our food and hence, our bodies. To sum up, the worldwide prohibition of non-recyclable bags will help tackle problems regarding atmosphere pollution and free humans from the threat of diseases developed by digesting poisonous foods.

In conclusion, although plastic bags are commonly used among people, the global ban should be applied to protect our environment. This is because apart from one-use plastics being hard to completely break down, they also threaten the lives of marine animals, and because they also cause the fouling of air, water and crops that we consume.