Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Printed books have had greater effects on society than televisions.

In the modern era, technology is being developed at a galloping rate. This progress has resulted in many breakthroughs of technological devices. One of the big challenges of big societies is making a balance between their traditional things and technology. The controversial question which arises here is whether can we overlook the impact of technology in our everyday life or not. Some people are of the opinion that the effect of printed books will never be paled; while some believe that televisions have the most influence in the societies. As far as I am concerned, the role of printed books pales in comparison to the significance of televisions. In the following paragraphs, my viewpoint will be elucidated through two remarkable reasons.

The first vital point to bear in mind is that televisions have more audience. There are numerous ways that TVs can be more attractive rather than books. Watching TV is noticeably addictive for many various advertisements that they show in each program so the diversity is the important key for audiences to follow up the TV shows. Also, watching TV provides pure entertainment for people who are involved by hectic lives. It helps them to relieve their daily stress, and it is a great economical pastime. Actually, it helps people get together and spend quality time together. Although it might have several benefits for families, it causes irreparable physical and mental health problems. For instance, my sister used to watch TV every day when she wants to spend her leisure time. After a while, she faced sophisticated problems such as eye sight problems, obesity, aggressiveness and etc. In consequence, my parents decided to limit hours of watching TV in our home. Had my parents became more aware of negative effects of watching TV, my sister wouldn’t face these sophisticated problems.

The second pivotal reason is that not only do printed books not have greater effect than televisions on societies, but also those lose their invaluable place among adolescents and young people these days. As a matter of a fact, technology has caused the trend away from tradition toward modernization. There is no doubt that new technological devices play a prominent role in the society. Recent researches show that the majority of people would prefer to read electronic books instead of printed books. This indicates that people are more familiar with modern ways than old-fashioned ones. Furthermore, some people are concerned about environmental issues. They provide big TV shows to encourage people to save the world by reducing usage of papers. They believe that the more e-books, the more green world. In conclusion, young generations are more interested in these announcements that they receive through televisions.

To bring everything into conclusion, television have had greater impact on societies than printed books. To state the obvious, it is highly suggested that people should be aware of advantageous and disadvantageous of watching TV as well as they should not forget the cultural training of books; however, there is no difference that they would opt to read electronic version of books or printed ones.