Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Reading fiction (such as novels and short stories) is more enjoyable than watching movies. Use specific reasons and examples to explain your position

Storytelling is an artful skill. It can use a variation of the medium, either with novels, comic books or movies, to convey the story message. Through the advancement of technologies such as CGI, a movie can tell the story in the most surreal way. It is breathtaking to witness the story come to life. The story is the soul of the the novel. Although going to a cinema is very enjoyable, I personally agree with the statement because several reasons I would like to elaborate in the next paragraph.

First, the novel contains a comprehensive story and description without time restriction. Unlike a movie where it has time and money constraint, a book constitutes many chapters with full of details and characters. It is impossible to make a movie with duration of 6 hours and involve 120 different characters. For example, Harry Potter book consists three hundred to five hundred pages, if the movie similar to the novel, we will sit back for almost six hours. As a consequence, the cinema will have less profit and cinemagoer feel bored and restive. I was watched the movie and I felt the movie is terrible.

Second, the adaptation of certain scene may be insurmountable to recreate. Although the green screen can produce the implausible scene, sometimes, they unable to resemble the writer imagination or the result look forced so the spectator feel unsatisfied. For instance, one of the obstacles with the Twilight movie is the face changing sequence, facilitated by the CGI, looks so unnatural and delayed. It feels fake and inadequate, different from our imagination. The scene is portray the transformation of the baby, who is a vampire, into the adult form. I was startled with the result.

Ultimately, watching movies to the cinema or even subscribing a cable service require extra cash. Considering the matter, I realized that it will benefit the entertainment industry but I personally feel that is too costly and take some of my enjoyment since I will think about the consequences afterward. The subscription of cable need to be renew every month, which is very troublesome for me. In the other hand, the novel is cheaper and everlasting. I can reread it many times in the comfort of my home, where is very convenient. I believe that the nuance of the place affect the storyline.

Reading has more attractive qualities than the movie adaptation, that is explain in the previous paragraph. Although a movie complements the story very well, I personally believe that reading a book is more enjoyable than just watch the movie adaptation.