Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Usee specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the hunter-gatherer era, humans have been living in groups for an extended period of time. Rules are influential and important for our lives because they eliminate conflicts and argues, which are very likely to happen among a group of people. I personally believe that rules in the society that expects (expecting) the youths to follow aren’t that hard(harsh). Therefore, I strongly disagree the given statement that rules set for the youths are too strict to obey. The detailed explanation will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

First, the rules are set to protect the young generation instead of limiting their potential, for children aren’t mature both mentally and physically. Therefore, without those rules to guide, the stable and peaceful society nowadays that most people take for granted, will simply become a mess. Take one ground rule set by the government as an example: Children under 18 are not allowed to consume alcohol. Alcohol are notorious for causing troubles not only to children, but even adults and can many out-of-order behaviors can be done after the effect of alcohol. Therefore, it’s reasonable that children are prohibited to touch it until they fully understand the possible consequences and can take responsibility for themselves.

Another reason that drives me to indicate is that youths, who are seen as immature, often oppose for the sake of opposition. It is not because of the rigorous rules that cause children to rebel against it; rather, children simply don’t know what they are opposing for. Take Japan as an example. Some high schools don’t require students to wear uniforms to school anymore because students have complained that wearing uniforms is an old-fashion regulation. However, teachers observed that many students started to wear uniform-style casual clothes to school after the rule is removed, which is a good case indicating that children tend to complain for the sake of complaining rather than really dislike it.

In conclusion, there may be some space for rules to change, but rules should never be taken out completely, because not only does it harm the young generation, but it also makes a chaotic society.