Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Every societies have their own set of rules for their young which are different from other societies'. However, most of the time, the similarity between these rules in different societies are much more than their differences. Many people believe that these rules are needed for young people, and for improvement of societies. However, my opinion differs from these people, and I believe that societies' rules are too strict in today worlds for young people.

First and foremost, societies expect young people to know what they want to do with the rest of their life early in life, and when they are still in school. If a young person changes majors or is not sure about what he wants to pursue as a career, societies will look down on him. Since youngster has a lot different options to choose nowadays, it is harder for them to make a firm decision early in life, so I believe it is unfair to them to be looked down on if they are indecisive early in life and want to explore different options they have. I remember that my older brother was shamed for not knowing what he exactly wanted to do with his life when he was in his early 20s. Everybody would have compared him to his friend who decided to be a doctor early in life and had been working on his goal hardly in his early 20s. Society expectation putt lots of pressure on my brother which led him to have depression for a long time.

Secondly, because of the Internet and social media, societies compare young people to models and celebrities and expect them to be look like them. This make many youngsters to go through cosmetic surgery so they can meet social standards. Also young people suffer from depression and social anxiety more than ever because of these pressures. Many of my classmates who are in their early 20s, have been through cosmetic surgery, and most of them still feel that they are not enough which make them depressed and anxious because they feel that they will not ever meet society's standard.

In conclusion, in my opinion societies' rules are too strict nowadays and expect a lot from young people. Societies expect young people to know what they want to do with their life and shame them if they are indecisive about their future goals. In addition, societies compare youngster with models and celebrities and expect them to look like them, and this put lots of pressure on young people.