Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Universities have a major effect on each student knowledge. For this reason universities' curriculum should be set with lots of care. I believe that each curriculum should be based on students ' need and their field of study, and it is no need for all the students to take courses like history, if their field of studies have nothing with it. I will support my opinion by giving two reasons in the following.

To begin with, many students need to get good grades, so they will fully focus on their field of studies to get good scores and master in their majors, however, it may be hard for them to get good grades in history because they may not be familiar with it. If universities make taking history courses a requirement, it will hurt many of students' grades because they may not be good at history. For example, I remember that when my cousin was an undergraduate student, she was required to take a history course even though her major did not have anything to do with history. She was a top student but that semester her grades was not as good as before because she was not good at history and that history class hurt her grades.

In addition, not all students like history, so it may be a burden on their shoulders to have a history course. For this reason they may not pay attention to their history courses and may not be active during the classes. This will make the professors unmotivated too since most of the students will take history courses because they are forced. If both the students and the professors going to be unmotivated, the outcome of the classes will not be good, and history courses will be only a waste of time.