Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Social norms and rules serve as guidance on people's career development and social interactions. In spite of this important role, there are complaints that the rules one is expected to follow in adolescence and early adulthood are too strict. In my opinion, however, the rules are not too harsh if we take morality and responsibility into consideration.

To start with, some seemingly strict rules are reasonable from a moral perspective, in the sense that they define how a young person should be considerate and take care of others. Many rules in daily life can be understood from this point of view, from not making noise at late night to standing on the right side of the elevator to offering seats to elderly people, all of which need the young people to pay close attention to the time and people around them. While these long-built rules may seem inconvenient even annoying, they are essential for the harmony of the community.

Furthermore, rigid and boring may some rules seem to be, following them is an effective way to take responsibility for one’s own career and life. For example, young people are expected by their parents to have plans and make certain accomplishments at certain life stages, such as obtaining a university degree in early 20s followed by a job place with stable salaries in late 20s, but a “less boring” lifestyle with more flexibility, freedom and possibilities can be more attractive to many. Although it is evident that each individual has their own preferences in lifestyle, the former way of life is more helpful than the latter in developing skills and transition to independence, which is crucial in early adulthood.

In conclusion, the rules are not too strict due to reasons in morality and responsibility.