Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: students are more interested in politics today than the past.

There is no shortage of debate about whether students should be engage in politics or not. Although many believe students were more interested in politics before than they are today, I,on the other hand, believe they are more interested in politics issues today than the past. I will address the most discernible reasons why I feel this way in the following.

To begin with, nowadays in almost 90 percent of countries, people define their country future by participating in election. However, in the past they participated in election as they do today, but their decision has sever effect on their future, due to complicated countries relationships in our period .Accordingly, students as part of a society become more interested in politics issues, in order to be able to choose and rationally vote to right candidate. For instance, about 12 years before, we have controversial election in Iran. We should participated in election to chose our next President. I recall that we have a lot of arguments in our university about candidate merits and their demerits. However I was not interested in politics at the beginning, but after I heard their opinion I became interested to politics issues and I searched internet to find some article about my country politics policies and it’s filure throughout history. Unfortunately, in that specific election wrong codidate won election, and we faced a lot of challengeis, such as united nation and United States sanction, when he was president, but it has a good effect in my country, because more students interested to politics and they tried to enhance their politics knowledges, in order to prevent an other disaster.

Moreover, todays almost all people somehow access to internet and they spend a lot of their time in it. According to new survey about 90 percent of university and 95 percent of high school students are connected to internet for 5 hours a day, and they use a lot of their time using social networks, such as Twitter, Facebook or Instagram and so on. Politician are aware about that and they constantly advertise themselves in these network. Thus, they always see them they gradually become interested to them, due to their curiousity. My brother experience is a compelling example of this. Two years a go my father bought a smart phone to my little brother for his birthday, and he immediately installed Instagram and Twitter app on his device. After a while he asked me some question about our country policies and about politiotion and also about some economy crisis, such as inflation. I knew he was not interested to these concept, hence I asked him why he wanted to know about them. I realized he saw some politician advertising in Twitter and read their comments in Istragram. This example illustrate that students became interested to politics because new technology gives this opportunity to politician to advertise themselves on the internet.

In conclusion, it is for all the aforementioned reasons, I firmly believe that nowadays students are more interested in politics than the past. This is because people want to define their countries future by participation in election, and because they constantly see politics issues in social networks.