Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

For the successful development of a country, it is more important for a government to spend money on the education of very young children(five to ten years old) than to spend money on universities.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The education in any given society plays a pivotal role in the development of that society. With this in mind, there is heated controversy about whether governments should spend money on universities or spend on children's education. As far as I am concerned, the education of very young children is far more critical. The reasons why I believe so will be elaborated upon hereunder.

First, the young generation in every society is the cornerstone of the development of that society. I mean, if the government provides an excellent educational environment for children, they will probably become very interested in science and will pursue it in their future. Children will become so passionate that even if their universities were not satisfying enough, they would attend universities abroad in order to achieve the best education. By doing so, and after they graduated, they will come back to their home countries and help the economy to develop, either by teaching in their own universities or other ways. For instance, there are many countries, especially in East Asia, such as South Korea and Singapore, that did not possess excellent universities a few decades ago. They invested in children and their education, and now these countries are at the forefront of development and technology.

Second, investing in the young generation's education helps to guarantee a more healthy generation, and significantly decreases the crime statistics. It is statistically proven that there are very few criminals in well-educated people. They commit fewer crimes, and they will also obey the rules and help to develop a safe society. My own observation demonstrates this reality. About twenty years ago, there was a family in our neighborhood, who had two sons. One of them attended school, and one did not. The one who went to school was able to go to university and found a decent job. He became a role model in the community because he never committed a crime. His brother, on the other hand, did not go to school or college. Because he had to make money, he started illegal jobs to feed his family and got arrested a few months later. So, as I said, imagine a whole society be like the earlier brother. I think society will be much safer and more pleasant to live in.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, I strongly believe that investing money in the very young children's education has more significance than spending money on universities. Since this well educated young generation will lead the country to development. Also, they will make society safe and hospitable.