Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

What teachers talk at classes may heavily influence students’ performances at classes, so professors need to be careful when they structure their classes. For now, important question is whether they can talk about things that are unrelated to main lesson or not. From my perspective, I think that instructors should not discuss about societal and political situations. I feel this way for two main reasons, and I will explore these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, teachers will waste the time of lecture by talking about things which are not associated with curriculum of specific subjects, so learners’ opportunity to understand concepts of main lessons diminishes. Pupils devote their valuable time to attend certain classes, and comprehend specific topics of these academic disciplines. However, if teachers squander this time by digressing from main purpose of field of studies, students cannot use their time efficiently because of their professors. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Last semester, in my mathematics course, my teacher discussed about the authorities of Mongolia, which is my native country, and their involvement in society for nearly thirty minutes. Therefore, she expended only an hour to explain theories and principles of mathematics. As a result, our class could not keep up with the curriculum of ninety minutes lesson within an hour. This example demonstrates how teachers squander time, and affect students’ performance negatively.

Secondly, pupils could be sidetracked by unimportant discussion, so they cannot pay in-depth attention to their main lesson. Students need to be attentive in order to understand some lessons such as natural science. However, when others talk about other things, they will be overwhelmed by unnecessary thoughts. For instance, at the beginning of the last semester, an instructor of physics discussed about the following elections of Mongolia. Then, I was distracted by this talk, and not paying attention to lesson when my professor started teaching about theories of physics because I could not collect myself. Consequently, I end up not understanding anything about principles he mentioned at the class.

In summation, I am of the opinion that teachers must not discuss about their opinion about political and social circumstances at lectures. This is because they will ruin invaluable time, and distract pupils’ attention.