Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that the teachers are the building blocks of each society, the importance of whom cannot be underestimated. It is still crystal clear that each people, be it a teacher, a student, a parent or any other person view the world through different lenses; each of them has various social or political views. In this line of thought, while some people hold the opinion that teachers should not reveal their social or political perspectives to the students, others stand at the other side of this continuum, believing that teacher should make their views clear and recognizable to the students. Personally speaking, I assume that teachers should not be allowed to make their social and political views known to the students and the reasons to support my ideas are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, if teachers discuss their own personal opinion on social and political issues in the class, the students will undoubtedly follow them without using their own rationality and thought. To put it in other words, since students consider their teachers to be a perfect role model and emulate their behavior, they will not use their own mentality in order to find the right path. The more the teacher talks about his or her political and social view, the more likely will be the chance for students to imitate their teachers. A personal example can drive this notion home. Being a high school student, my teacher used to talk about his own perspectives about the most recent events occurring in the society. When it came to presidential election, he totally bombarded us with his own thought direction and exalted one of the candidates more than the rest. As a student who used to consider my teacher a role model, I voted for the candidate that my teacher talked about without even thinking or gaining extra information about the candidate. If my teacher had not talked about a specific candidate, I would have voted for another person with no shadow of doubt. Teachers’ ideas and views will affect students’ decisions whether positively or negatively.

Furthermore, as soon as the teacher starts talking about the personal points of view on assortments of issues like social and political subjects, students would make a comparison with their own beliefs and perspectives in order to find similarity or paradox. In other words, when students find paradox and contrast between their teacher’s perspectives and their own, they will lose trust in them, the absence of which can adversely influence pupils’ productivity and rapport between them. To put it into a more vivid picture, when I was a sophomore at university, my mathematical professor used to analyze various political events in order to give a summary of his own understanding and perspective. As soon as I found a huge gap between his idea of the current regime in Iranian context and my personal perspective, not only did I become reluctant to listen to his analysis, but also I could not even concentrate on his teaching materials. If teachers make their opinions known to the students, sooner or later students will make the comparison so as to find a connection, the absence of which can make students not to trust their teachers anymore.

In conclusion, having the aforementioned reasons and points into account, I do believe that teachers should not reveal their perspectives to the students because it will make students make a decision solely on the basis of their teachers’ idea without any thinking. Moreover, any contrast and gap between the ideas of teachers and the students can overshadow the scope of trust and productivity in students.