Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers, because of their significant role in everyone's life, have been admired and appreciated throughout history. However, there is controversy among people about whether this appreciation has declined in recent years. As far as I am concerned, I totally believe that nowadays, teachers are valued and appreciated less than in the past. The reasons why I believe so will be elaborated upon hereunder.

First, teachers usually were the only source of information for society in the past, and people respected them for that. I mean, there was no internet, and also, there were fewer books and magazines. As a result, people learned everything in their schools and from their teachers. Moreover, those families who wanted a better future for their children had to respect the teachers. Because the teachers were the only way to get education for their kids. My own example will illustrate this. Thiry years ago, in my hometown, there was a mathematic teacher who taught in the only school in town. Because the only way to learn mathematic was that teacher, people respected him so much and appreciated his work. Everyone in town was trying to do something for him. In those days, there was a shortage in almost everything, and people were in lines to buy food or other stuff. However, he never had to stay in lines. Every time he went to buy something, they just give him without waiting.

Second, there was no intense competition for exams in the past, and the respect and appreciation for teachers were due to their sheer hard work and knowledge. Nowadays, people want their children to be successful in the university entrance exam, and they do not care about how much their kids learn in different courses. They just want good results. Sometimes, families obtain specific educations from online sources. They think that teachers have no ability or knowledge to teach their children. Even some families try to stop their children from going to school because they think it is a waste of time. There was no competition in the past, and people could easily pass the university entrance exam. Therefore, they attended school and learned everything from their teachers because it was enough.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, I strongly believe that teachers were more appreciated and valued in the past in comparison to today. In the past, teachers were the only source of information. Also, there was less competition for university entrance exams.