Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teaching is harder than it was in the past.

With the explosive development of science and technology, so much is new and complex. When it comes to the topic whether teaching is harder than it was in the past, there are a host of individuals from different fields holding different opinions. Quite a few, if not a majority, believe that it is true that teaching is much easier today due to the new technology, while in contrast, I disagree with it, and it is my central argument that teaching is indeed harder than it was in the past.

The first reason for my argument is that students have been more informed, which makes teaching more difficult. This is because the advancement of the new media and technology has made young students more exposed to different kinds of knowledge. For instance, my Chinese teacher at senior high school, Ms. Wang, has complained that students are so smart that she feels stressed every day. She notes that she now needs to read five reference books for each session, refer to more question banks, and prepare her lectures for three more hours on average every week than 10 years ago. She also has to rehearse at least three times and have more teaching meetings with colleagues in case that she could not answer her students’ difficult questions and therefore lost face. However, students in the past did not have other information sources to refer to. Thus, the pressure students put on teachers today indicates that it is harder to teach than it was in the past.

Moreover, the modern culture in the society which encourages students to challenge rather than respect the authority makes it harder to teach as well. Living in an era that demands distinctive personalities and originality, students are allowed to express themselves freely while teachers will not win support if they punish students. Take the case of class communication between students and teachers for example. Nowadays, they can speak out their ideas loudly whenever they want, sometimes even without raising their hands. Every time students feel confused, they are just allowed to jump in and interrupt their teachers. They can have really heated debates with teachers. However, in the past, students were asked to obey rather strict classroom rules, such as no speaking or even no movement when listening to the lectures. Apparently, it is so much harder for teachers to finish their teaching plans when they have to spend more time dealing with the challenges from students.

Needless to say, there do exist some factors that can contribute to the argument from the opposite that teaching becomes easier today, because nowadays teachers really have various ways to make them understood and communicate better with students. For example, they can give PowerPoint representations in class, and copy them for students in case they miss any key points, which was rather incredible even 10 years ago. However, that is only part of the story, because the same technology has also made students more independent thinkers. So after contemplating all the discussions presented above can we maintain that teaching is harder than it was yesterday.

In conclusion, after weighing all the related factors, I am confident to maintain that teaching today has become more difficult than it was in the past.