Essay topics: TPO-23 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In today’s world, it is more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct.

Nowadays, with the fierce competition, the issue that whether to work quickly and risk making mistakes are more important than to work slowly and make sure correctness has arouse people's concern. Some citizens think that working quickly is the priority. However, from my perspective, it is a compelling argument to argue that working slowly and ensuring the correctness are more vital based on the following considerations.

My first emphatic approval should be given to the reason that working in a slow path and ensuring correctness enables people to acquire more knowledge and ability. It bears watching that ensuring correctness requires much efforts, such as searching for some extra information and  learning by doing. The prime example is my cousin, Mike, a student majored in computer science. Last summer, he worked as  data scientist assistant in Google, and the assignments are all about customer analysis. At first, insufficient as his proficiency is, Mike had to read a lot of guiding tutorials and revised his projects for many times to make sure every details are considered, which cost Mike a huge amount of time. It is the process of correcting his mistakes that Mike obtained a plethora of skills and made great progress. However, if Mike focused on speed rather than correctness, he would not gain so much knowledge and make so huge development. Therefore, I am led to the idea that working slowly and making sure everything is right is more essential than working quickly and leaving some mistakes.

What should be paid attention is that working slowly and making sure no mistakes will place people as beneficiaries via leaving others good impression of carefulness. It is crystal clear that people who seldom make mistakes are more reliable, and no one would be reluctant to work with such reliable people. According to the survey conducted by Peking University, it shows that 94 percent of employees indicate that they like to work with scrupulous colleagues, and 76 percent of supervisors show that workers with circumspection are preferred because they have more prosperity. In contrast, the workers who often make mistakes are not regarded as promising, though they can work quickly. Thus, I am convinced that the correctness is more important than quickness.

It is true that the making everything is right is time-consuming because every details need to be checked. Nevertheless, the mistakes will finally be spotted and rectified by other testers, which means the whole time spent on the project is longer. Consequently, I am immune to the assertion that ensuring the correctness will result in a waste of time.

In conclusion, based on the fine-grained analysis, I am confident to claim that working slowly and ensuring the correctness are more significant than working quickly and risking mistakes.