Agree or disagree. It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Nowadays people are highly exposed into the events happening around the world by the social media. The question comes, is it necessary to know about the events happening around the world? As far as I am concerned, I believe that people do not have to know about those events happening worldwide for the following reasons.

To begin with, people have more important things to do, rather than spend their valuable time on those event or news that are irreverent to them. Only if they keep themselves away with those noisy news and events can they be more devoted to their own business, such as studying or working. Take my friend Taylor for example. She is a university student and like to read tweets and news on Twitter. When the finals came, she cannot help spending 10 hours a day to read the news about those tweets and news on Twitter, instead of be devoted to what she should do-study for the final exam. In the end, she failed her final exam and decided to be more devote to study rather than keep care about those events happening around the world. Therefore, people should mind their own important things and keep themselves from distracted by those news and events.

Moreover, social media will bury us with meaningless spams. Those social media will keep sending us the notification of the events you are not interested in, such as a singer is having a birthday. And it is very time-consuming to find the events you really like in those notifications. Take myself for example. At first, I like to read those events and stuffs. However, after spending many meaningless hours reading those events that have nothing to do with me, I find that social media have kept sending me notification of those events, which is so annoying. And they did not improve my life at all. Therefore, I believe that it is not worthwhile to spend time on those events that are highly likely those meaningless spams.

Admittedly, some events may benefit myself by telling about some important events that might impact my life. But I think that it is unnecessary to spend timeless hours to read those events or news. If those events will have impact on my own life, I will know about them eventually. So, I think ordinary people like me do not need to know those events on purpose.

In a nutshell, I still hold the idea that people do not have to know about those events happening worldwide.