Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the proposed statement. Personally saying, I think television advertising towards young children should not be allowed because, in my perspective, they will have bad effects on young children. Some people might say that television advertising is entertaining for young children, but I say there are some issues with that view. I have mentioned some of my experiences and reasons to defend my idea.

For example, my close friend has a girl who is four years old. My friend always lets her watch television programs such as Cartoons or animations, her girl is interested in watching television advertising, especially about cookies and candies. Someday, when my friend and I with her girl went to a supermarket, her child started to cry and made her mom buy cookies and candies. My friend said to me that her girl is like that when she goes to these markets. Now her girl is twelve years old, and her teeth are damaged, because she never left her addiction to sweet things like candies.

For another example, I know a young couple. They are our neighbors and have a boy who is five years old. The young parents always complain that their boy wants to buy anything that television advertising shows, and if they do not buy those things, he will embarrass them in front of other people. His mother always says to me that they have to buy many unnecessary things, so they can not save much money for other necessary things. Television advertising has had a bad influence on their life.

To sum up, I think parents should control their children not to see all the television advertising. In this way, they can buy only good things and make their life healthy.