Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Advertising is one of the most important parameters for selling products. Usually, companies advertise their new products. Advertisements can deceive or persuade people to buy a specific product. However, it does not mean that the product quality is higher than another one. Advertising for young children is much easier because children are easily deceived by some cartoonish advertisement. Some agree that there should be freedom in television advertising for young children, others disagree. Even though advertising for young children might be beneficial for the company that sells the product, in my view, television advertising for young children has a reverse effect on them because of two important reasons.

Firstly, children cannot decide which product is better. The brain is developing and growing rapidly in the first years of life. The brain gets mature at a minimum age of five. Before that, the brain is immature and cannot separate the good and the bad from each other. Also, young children love cartoons and animation movies. It might get even better if the cartoon is more colorful, which Cartoon designers are aware of. Thus, when a company manufactures a new product for children, it hires a cartoon designer, signs a contract with him, pays the designer and wants a cartoon advertisement in return. Even if the product is detrimental to juvenile children, the designer designs an advertisement for the product and demonstrates it as a healthy product. Subsequently, the child watches the advertisement and begs his/her parents to buy the product for him/her. Conclusively, the advertisements persuade children to buy their products much easier than adults.

Second, some advertisements for adults are not suitable for children and may have a consequent negative impact on society. There are some products labeled only for adults, for example, cigarettes, wines, alcohols, sexual instruments, and etcetera. As I explained before, a child's brain is developing progressively. The developing requires new information. Therefore, all the information the child learns is being classified on his mind. Good or bad information become a component of the child's brain and mind. As the child grows up and moves into adulthood, the information is part of his mind. If he learns bad information, his unconsciousness leads him to harm the society, especially if he gets to be a prominent person or a politician. Unfortunately, most of the politicians had problems when they were pre-schoolers. As we can see, there is a direct relation between unsuitable advertisements for young children and the health of society.