Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The economical market in today's world is widely dominated with products that aim at young children.As most of them may claim to be useful , a lot of these products often fail to do so. Some people may claim that , these advertisements have proven to be useful for them. Whereas , others may argue that , even though the advertisements seem to be appealing, they are often misleading and should not be allowed to be shown on television.I am in agreement to the latter part of this argument and would not want such advertisements to telecast.

Firstly, the manufacturing company that runs TV Ads, often neglect the quality of products while improving their quantity. In short they prefer quantity over quality. As a result, parents unknowingly put the younger ones at risk because it is difficult to know where the product came from. For example, when i was a kid , i used to love playing with toy cars. The bright red, yellow, green colors used to amaze me and attract my attention. In fact, whenever a Toy car commercial used to come on the TV, i would urge mhy mother to buy them for me. But later on, I started to develop stomach aches and fell ill. This was because the toy car paint contained lead which I had ingested causing a serious risk to my health. Thus, such advertisements should not be allowed because they may sell products that may harm the health.

Also, majority of the Advertisements promote eatables like chocolates. It has been observed that dental health of young children are mostly affected, if such products are consumed excessively. For instance, my uncle runs a chocolate shop, where he keeps all the branded chocolates like cadbury, dairymilk. Many children in my locality usually like buying chocolates from him because of the chocolate ads on television. All of them have caries in their teeth! Even on advising them not to eat chocolates they still eat them because of the appealing ads. Since, dental health is a crucial aspect of a child's health, such ads should be discouraged.

Advertisements may show appealing offers and products but the target group of these ads should also be taken into consideration. Since many of these ads are misleading , the quality of some products will be harmful to younger age group and excessively eating chocolates just because the ads are promoting them, will add up to the risk. Thus due to these reasons i feel that TV ads for young children should not be allowed.