Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shadow of a doubt that television advertising is one of the most effective ways to impact on people, especially young children. Some people believe that advertising should not be produced for children and governments must ban these type of advertisements. Others hold an opposite view and declare that advertising is for all people and there should not be any restriction. I, personally, am inclined to the former view and in the following paragraphs will explain my reasons.

To begin with, advertisements are very attractive for children and may they want to see all of them. In this way, kids will waste so much of their time to watching this type of TV program. To be more specific, it will be very harmful for their health situation because not only prevent them from doing physical activities but also hurts their eye vision. Young children at age two to five should spend most of their time playing games with other kids to learn social communication, not just sitting in front of the televisions. To illustrate, research by scientists of the University of Tehran showed that young children who spend more time watching television will face more visual disabilities when they get aged which force them to use glasses. Therefore, it is very harmful to children to spend their time watching advertisements and government should prohibit them from continuing.

Secondly, kids who see the advertisement for a product on TV, to seem appealing, want to have it. Then they will insist on their parents to buy the product which they saw on TV. As is clear, this process will stimulate children which they want all the advertised commodities. Besides, their parents should spend a huge amount of money to make them satisfied by they wanted a thing which may some of whom, in today's economic situation, could not afford it. Majority of the toys or foods which kids persist to have, just come from consuming culture and after a while, they will find which they do not need them.

In conclusion, young children should not be the ambition of the television advertisement. Since they will get hurt by watching TV for the long run, and will be seduced toward the charming shows and want to shop all of them.