Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today's world is so different from the past in many aspects like family relations. Some people believe that the extended family is more important than it was in the past. I, personally, do not agree with this opinion and think that the extended family had a more pivotal role in an individual's life in the past. In the following paragraphs, I explain my reasons to clarify my viewpoint.

To begin with, people are busier nowadays due to their job or academic activities. The majority time of the children spends in the university and school, by doing homework and getting ready for their presentations. In addition, adults are overwhelmed by their office works and daily chores, which will remain no time for visiting grandparents. In the past, one had more time because the level of their activity per day was lower than today. My own experience is a convincing example of this. When I was a kid, every weekend me along with my cousins went to my grandmother's home and met our aunts and uncle. Although, as time passed, all of which found a job or attend university and they do not have much free time. Therefore, today's activities occupied people and minimize their time for visiting their family.

Secondly, in the past, most members of the extended family lived with each other in a big home or the same city. Although, many individuals are migrating nowadays to another city or even country for a better job position or higher level of academic facilities. The distance between the part of a family will reduce the intimate relations among them. For example, one of my uncles, which I saw him each weekend at grandmother's home, migrate with his family abroad last year. This phenomenon affects in a harmful way on our relations and maybe we even cannot see each other anymore. As is clear, separating the member of a family, which shared a home in the past, diminishes the importance of the family, especially the extended family.

In conclusion, the priority of the extended family has been reduced in recent decades. Being engaged with the personal activity which will remain not time to allocate for the family, and live far away from each other which reduce the intimacy of a family, are the reasons for lacking the importance of extended family in today's world.