Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television does not give people an accurate view of human nature. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The power of television has been studying for decades after its introduction. There is a controversy the intensity of its influence, it is considered as a true that television is actually influential to people. Especially, it affects how people think and what people think by reflecting specific views from the television. Therefore, I agree with the statement that television does not give people an accurate view of human nature.

To begin with, there is a theory that called the “Cultivation theory” explains people’s distorted belief of real world. The theory argues that people who watch television news more frequently than others have more chances to see the world as the news depicted. Since the news cover the usual topics like crimes, heavy users of television easily have a view that the world is full of crimes and human are scary and born to be evil which is an inaccurate point of view. If you see the actual rate of crimes, crimes occur really little and the cover story of news is just a small portion of it. Thus, their view of human nature is absurd.

Furthermore, television develops stereotypes of human nature. It is actually matter because it conveys biased impression of ethnicity. Think about the tv show anything you like. Asian family background character is always a nerd good at math or a hard worker eagerly chasing an achievement. How about the character whose ethnicity is Latino? He or she describes as a bright and extrovert person, sometimes a noisy and nosy person. I bet we all agree that human are different because we are just different individuals. Culture can affects, but not everyone in the same country has the same ability and personality. These portrayal in television has nothing to do with the real human nature. However, television gradually put stereotypes into our mind by giving a false notion of human nature.

To sum up, you cannot find an accurate view of human nature in television due to the fact that it distorts the reality and it represents biased perception of human nature.