Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more interesting to read a good book or see a good movie the second time than the first. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people believed that reading a book or seeing a movie more than once is boring despite its good quality. However, as a person who read a classical book repeatedly and watch the same movie all the time, I guarantee you can get more interesting feelings when you read a good book or see a good movie the second time.

The second time gives you a chance to comprehend profound meaning in the narratives. There should be a time difference between the first time you and the second time you read or saw. During this gap, random experiences that happen to be fertile soil in your life are piled up. And because of these experiences, your initial perspective of the narratives would change in a better way. For example, I would like to share my experience for the second time I read “1984” written by George Orwell. I read that book for the first time when I was a teenager. In the present point of a view, at that time I did not understand what the actual meaning of the lines in the book. However, while growing up I encounter ‘the world’ that stirring up many issues and struggle under the fact that the society has an invisible power like money, fame, or authority, I was either sometimes a part of the struggle or an observer. ‘Big brother’ in the “1984” is fictional but getting real to me. Since then, I am able to figure out an exact lesson the author wanted to talk about to readers.

Furthermore, people cannot catch many details in the narratives of text and video at once. When you focus on another aspect at the second time, you can see tremendously various things that you’ve never known before. When the “Parasite” by Bong joon ho came out, I watched twice. The second time was few days after first seeing which means the benefit of piling life experiences due to the time matter that I mentioned earlier is not working here, though, you still can enjoy the movie by exploring details in the scenes. For the second time seeing that film, I tried to find the connection between places where the characters live -Basement, Semi-basement, and the big house with second floors-and hierarchy within the characters. This was such an interesting way to enjoy the movie and it made a good movie to be much better.

To sum up, a good movie and a good book is still good whether you experience for the first time or the second time. Also it is even more interesting at the second time phase, since you look closely and interpret in a new way with your experiences.