Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television has destroyed communication among friends and family. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

The essential question of the prompt is whether the TV has played a vital role in destroying communication among friends and families. Some people, if asked, might argue that it has, while others would elaborate on the complexity of the issue because of too many factors involved. As far as I am concerned, I adopt a firm position that TV is to blame for worsening communication between peers and relatives because watching TV requires time which otherwise could be spent on interaction with friends.

Everybody would agree that television is addictive. The more you watch it the stronger temptation is to continue watching it because a movie or an interesing programm is not yet ended and people yearn to find out a conlusion. Obviously, most people do not communicate with others while sitting in front of a TV-set, thus the time spent is a stolen time by TV which in other case you may spend with your friends sharing ideas or discussing events. I’m also inclined to think that overwatching a TV makes one’s life unhappy. To illustrate that idea let’s consider the following example. I remember a few years back I used to watch television almost for 3 hours a day reaching up to 30 hours on some weeks. I didn’t have many friends back then. Maybe two or three peers I used to hang out with once a week. But then I read a book describing the very situation I had and explaining the consequences of such way of life. I decided to limit myself to only 10 hours of TV a week and you wouldn’t believe it but suddenly I had a plenty of friends and spent time happily with them.

Admittedly, despite of all the reasonable evidence of the contrary, some people argue that TV is a helpful factor in communication on the premise that while watching a TV one may learn new topics to discuss with friends and thus make conversations more involving. However, such position should be taken with a grain of salt. Those assertions are most likely to be made under assumption that TV is the only source of topics for discussion which obviusly does not hold true. Indeed, a research by VM instituation in Ukraine together with my own observations has provided me with a clear picture of what makes an interesting conversation. The discovered results suggest that most interesting topics to discuss can be found in books.

In summary, while various perspectives and viewpoints on the issue exist, it is evident that there are more agruments to claim that television plays negative role in building up successful communication process rather than insist on the positive effect from watching a “talking box”. The time spent in front of a TV may be spent more usefully and the best source to find topics for conversations is not a TV but books. I suggest we all read more books and maybe subsequently people will become better communication partners. After all, our all life is about communication and interaction with other people.