Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television has destroyed communication among friends and family. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Televisions are present in each and every house, nowadays. It has become the inevitable part of many people. Some watch TV for education, some for entertainment, while others for daily news update. Nevertheless, I strongly agree that TV have reduced communication between friends and family members.

First of all, we like to watch TV whenever we have some free time. The primary reason why we do this is that there is no need using our mind power while watching TV. Although we use some brain to comprehend what’s being said, it is usually very low, and most of the human beings prefer doing things which require less effort. As a consequence, we do not spend our free time with family or friends, rather we watch TV. To illustrate this, I remember when I was in 6th grade; I started watching TV a lot, especially those cartoon series. The large conversation between me and parents were converted into short talks. I spent most of the time in my room and came out of it only when I was hungry. But, fortunately, after some time I came to realize that my soft skills are depriving as I was not communicating with anyone for the most part of the day. Since that day I restricted the amount of time I would watch the TV in a day, and also what to watch.

Moreover, shows that are shown on TV are made to attract the audience and to keep them captivated for as long as possible. Lately, series and shows are made with the purpose of attracting a huge audience to earn greater profits. But this is not known to the audience who are watching it. So sometimes we don’t realise how much time have we spent watching that rectangular box which rarely gives useful information. Consequently, we detach ourselves from social life and communication reduces. For example, comedy shows have now become commonplace. Whereas, twenty years ago they were quite rare as were less appreciated at that time. However, as life became more stressful for people with time, they increased as people started watching them relax. Thus, the result was family did not share daily life problems with each other, spending time with friends was reduced which are some of the greatest stress-relievers.

For these reasons, I think that TV has reduced the time one spends with his/her family or friends.