Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television has destroyed communication among friends and family. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Every family has at least one TV in their houses. While some people think that television is considered one of the best inventions in the modern life other think that it destroyed communication among families and friends. I strongly believe that television helped destroying communication more than helped bringing family members and friends together.

Firstly, watching television while eating around the table with family is a bad habit that is common among most families. Most channels air their best programs at times when people usually eat, whether it is breakfast, lunch or dinner. Food normally brings family members together, it’s an opportunity to share their news and thoughts and communicate. However, nowadays and with the diversity of TV programs, you’ll always find something interesting to watch, as a result, the family member’s eyes are fixed on the television during the whole process of eating, without saying a word. Sometimes they don’t even see what they are eating.

Secondly, when kids, teenagers and working parents comes back home from schools or work, they are usually tired and worn up. After completing their homework, family member’s prefer to gather at the living rooms not to play some board games or just talk about their day but to watch the tv is silence because they’re too tired to speak or share thoughts. Contrary to the old days when parents used to seize the opportunity of having some priceless time with their beloved kids and gather at the living rooms to ask them about their day, school or friend to make them feel the love and are of their parents.

Lastly, the most preferable activity among friends is rather play with their phones or watch a movie on TV. By sharing a sofa and a boule of popcorn, friend think that they’re spending quality time together, nevertheless, each one of the them is focusing on the tv screen for the whole two hours of the movie time. I still remember when i was young, i used to beg my mom to let me sleep at my friend’s house so that we can play our favorite games in the house yard, riding the bike around the neighborhood and tell stories before we sleep. Most people my age can relate to this enjoyable moments that our kids never experience these days.