Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should require every graduating student to take public speaking courses. Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

A glance at people attitudes toward public speaking, brings to the light a question that has been asked several times, namely, whether taking public speaking courses assist student to overcome their fear or not. As a pharmacy graduate student, I believe that lectures and speeches are one of the important aspects of research and academic environment. Although most people think it is hard to speak in front of large audience, it is a crucial part of being educated and if the university require student to take public speaking courses, helps them to grow their speaking skill.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea lies in the fact that at the end of the day we must present our project in outstanding seminar and conferences. If we cannot speak with confident, how people can trust our result? The assignment and exams in the public speaking courses enable students to improve their abilities and find new techniques to control their fear. For example, the teacher shows student how to breathe effectively to reduce the level of Carbon dioxide in the blood and as a result decrease their stress level. Thus, it is a great opportunity for student to learn the newest method of speaking.

Another reason that I should deem is the subtle point that, a good teacher can find our weak and strong points in our presentation that we are not aware. For example, when I was at the first semester of the university, I thought that I can present very well even in front of 1000 people, and actually I was. However, I had a small mistake. Under stress, I repeated " for example" more than normal and it showed the audience that I am not relaxed. After understanding my mistake, I practiced a lot hat home in front of mirror and recorded my voice to count "for example". After a while I got successful to speak normally. Therefore, all pupils still need public speaking courses no matter what the level of their presentation is.

Nevertheless, some think that if the university require students to take such courses, it is boring for student who are good at presenting. In other words, they think that it will waste their precious time with no valuable outcome. However, I think even if a researcher is good enough in this skill, it is great to criticize his classmates presentation and make some comments. It helps him later when he finds an academic job in university as an instructor, assists his students to have a better speech. So, this requirement has a lot of direct and indirect benefits.

Due to the aforementioned discussion explored in the previous statements, I highly recommend students to take related courses to the public speaking even if they do not think it is necessary for them. On the their hand, the universities should require students to take such courses to enhance their speaking skills.