Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's developing world, it is crystal clear that every individual not only has to be well-educated and learned but also has to be healthy and sociable. In this regard, some people might claim that universities should focus on their educational aspects rather than their recreational and athletic aspects. Others, however, believe that great universities should consider both kinds of aspects and allocate well-balanced funds to them. Personally, I am of the opinion that the second theory - allocating an equal amount of money to both aspects - can be beneficial to students as well as universities for two conspicuous reasons which have been elaborated upon in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, as a matter of fact, students should be both mentally and physically healthy apart from learning various courses which are provided by their universities. There is a famous proverb in my culture which says, ' A healthy mind is in a healthy body.' In other words, In order for students to become successful in their education and also in their future careers, universities should consider their students' mental and physical health. If universities consider this health, they would provide their precious assets, their students, with various recreational and social services, such as sports competitions, ceremonies, parties, etc. By doing so, students can establish friendships with their academic peers, and also they can guard against diseases that might occur in the future. These simple and important occurrences imply that the students are healthy and successful during their academic studies. On the other hand, if universities only concentrate on some issues like books, teaching, and libraries, societies will face the so-called phenomenon of one-dimensional people, in which people tend to only read books and work for their employees, and they will be extremely like robots; therefore, the majority of these societies will be devastated in addition to suffering from health problems.

Second, it is of great help to the reputation of the universities, if they lay equal emphasis on the aforementioned aspects. When a university provides its students with sports and social services, many of the graduates of that university can be successful and famous athletes, presidents, celebrities, etc. This can be a kind of free and great advertisement for the university, thereby grasping the attention of people and professors. As a result, renowned professors and instructors will have a penchant for teaching at that university; thus, the university will prosper and its world ranking among its counterparts will rise significantly. Moreover, more money can be earned by the university, for more students choose to study at it. If we take a glimpse at famous and wealthy universities, such as MIT and Stanford, we can infer that many great athletes and presidents account for the alumni of these universities, since they have emphasized their students' physical and mental health as well as educational methods. Despite these famous universities, there are several universities whose policies only contain teaching theoretical lessons and books. These universities are less likely to become famous and prosper financially, because fewer students decide to pursue their majors at them and their professors are not experienced enough.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, it is greatly beneficial to both societies and universities, if universities allocate a sufficient amount of money to different fields. In so doing, societies will enjoy healthy and successful members, and universities reputation and quality will enhance dramatically. I wish that, one day, all the members of my society become successful and lead happy, healthy lives.