Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today’s world, the question, “ How to go from one place to another place efficiently?”, has greatly affected humans’ life. In other words, people are always looking for a way to move faster than they did in the past, and they are also considering “nature-friendly” factors. In this regard, there is an idea which says, in the future, the number of cars which we use will reduce significantly. Personally, I subscribe to this idea and I believe that for various reasons we will use fewer cars in next twenty years. Two most conspicuous of these reasons are elaborated upon in the following paragraphs.

First of all, protecting nature is one of the most important concerns among people of the world. In better words, people, especially the youth, are doing their best in order to protect nature and their environment against harmful activities and policies. With this in mind, more people tend to refrain from using cars, one of the most widespread sources destroying nature. As a matter of fact, if we take a glance at many countries, we can see that quite a few people prefer to use bikes instead of car as means of going to their work. Moreover, schools are trying to teach students to protect their nature so as to when they grow up they will try to preserve nature, which implies that future generations will have "nature-protecting" habits, one of which is not using cars. Therefore, people not only will use cars less but also will buy cars less, resulting in fewer number of cars in the future.

Second, as far as travelling is concerned, people are always looking for a way which is faster and can let them save more time. In this regard, as societies improve, people change their transportation system. For instance, if we take a look at history, in the past people tended to use horses, while, after a few years, they tended to use cars, which were faster in comparison with horses. Thus, although cars are on of the fastest ways to travel at the present, they might be outshined by faster and newer ways which will emerge in the future. Additionally, even at the present, various ways such as airplanes and fast trains, which are faster than cars, are becoming more popular among people, and governments are also trying to develop these ways in order to make their country improvement faster. With all this taken into account, it is clearly predictable that cars technology is going to become slow and out-of-dated as compared to new ways, thereby leading to reduction of cars in the next years.

In conclusion, according to the mentioned reasons, it is axiomatic that the number of cars is going to decrease drastically, since human beings are trying to protect nature for next generations and make their travelling faster. I wish that, one day, people from all nations stop using cars and protect the Earth against their harmful activities.