Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I disagree with the statement that sports and social activities are as critical as academics in university and college. I think that higher education institutions should value academics more than any fun activities. Universities need to focus on educational material development as the main task they are founded for, and that is precisely what differentiates between a high-rank university, and a low ranked one. Also, academics in universities need more work to compete with the universal educational level.

First of all, people send their kids to college or university to attain certificates in academics, not in social activities or sports. Admission to universities is costly as a parent starts to save money for this process when their kids are born in order to be able to afford the education costs. What they expect is a good quality of academics, mainly, not an athletic achievement. For instance, Recreation centers are abundant that you can find one in every city or town. These centers enrich social and sports activities ideally. There is no need to go anywhere else to practice sports or make social gatherings, as it is their primary as, and they do it pretty well. When people join college or university, they are completely hooked up with different activities outside the campus.

Secondly, academics are the most significant factor that differentiates between a high-rank school and a low-rank one. Materials updates and educational development will directly affect students' grades and their achievement. A higher score means a better ranking for the university, which is the ultimate goal for any educational institution. Therefore financials should be directed towards the academics improvements.

Finally, Itis a well-known fact now in the united states that American education is not at the top-level as before. The universal competition is growing greatly, as many countries replaced the first place that it used to be reserved in the US. For example, Finland now is the role model for the educational system recently. Studies show the significant stress on developing academics especially, curriculum and professors training. Besides using all the advanced tools for teaching in classes. Nothing was mentioned about after classes activities that have any influence on students' performance and grades. Thus the American educational system should follow this great model and emphasize academic importance.

In conclusion, I recommend that all universities pay more attention the academic improvement more than the social and sports activities as this is the key role for any educational institution, and will direct the financial resources properly.