Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Sports and physical activities are a crucial part of a student's growth and development. To support extracurricular activities in educational institutions funds are usually required. No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects of sports getting equal investment as curricular tasks. There are various schools of thought among people, some of them may not consider noncurricular activities mandatory in colleges but some of them would see eye to eye with it. If I were to choose, I would definitely agree that sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should have equivalent financial support. In the ensuing lines, I will elaborate on the most outstanding and cogent grounds.

First and foremost, one of the main benefits of sports and games is that it boosts the student's mental and physical health. By studying throughout the year, students get bored and definitely need a break from studies to freshen up their minds. As sports are played between teams in a healthy competition environment, it helps students to stay fit mentally. Outdoor activities like badminton, basketball, football help them to stay active and physically fit. While indoor games like chess and table tennis enhance their concentration level. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my personal experience. When I was in my first year of MBBS, I was very exhausted mentally by the burden of such a hard course. Then one of my senior recommended me to join a sports club at my university. After joining the club, not only I started to feel fresh and physically active but also my concentration level increased in my studies. As a result of taking part in games, performed really well in my final exams.

All in all, we can not and should not overlook the fact that sports are an essential part of academics and should get equal financial support from the authorities.

On top of this, sports and social activities improve the leadership abilities of students. Teamwork, time management, organizing events enhance their leadership skills and polish their overall professional personality. Such sports encourage students to showcase their abilities by assigning tasks and communicating with other team members. A great example of this would be the students who get gold medals on graduating from their universities. It is highly seen that the students who are engaged in extracurricular activities do have a developed mind and do much better in studies as compared to students who do not participate in social activities and they want to be on top in their class as well. Long story short, it is a clear day to me that sports play a vital role in developing human abilities and leadership qualities.

In light of the mentioned reasons, I am convinced that there should be an equal budget for sports and social activities as for libraries and other academic activities. This is by means of that sports getting importance will kill two birds with one stone since not only it improves mental and physical health but also leadership qualities in a student.