Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, universities and colleges make many programs about sports and social activities. People have different ideas and thoughts regarding whether the activities should get equal financial support as classes and libraries. Certainly, some people if asked would disagree that schools should focus on academic factors and facilities. However, the activities should be funded the same as the academic facilities because students can relieve their stress and improve their relationships.

Firstly, it is important to consider that students can reduce their stress. Even though if schools focus funding on academic factors, students will be able to get higher equality of education, it is not meaningful when students have bad conditions of mind due to the stress. However, sports and social activities help diminish their stress because when they do the things, they can forget about their works and just focus on the activities. Also, by refreshing their condition, they can do their works more efficiently. According to a study, students who had taken part in sports or club activities tended to get higher grades in the classes. This is because stress is inversely proportional to concentration. Moreover, by doing sports or club activities, students can decrease their stress the activities. Consequently, the study's researchers concluded that extra activities in schools help center on one thing without distracted and unstable minds.

Second, students can widen their networks. One of the main purposes of schools is to teach students academically. However, socializing is also an important factor that students should learn at their institutions. Since students have to focus on instructor’s speaking at their classes, they do not have opportunities to contact other students privately. That is, they cannot learn social or communication skills in classes. This limitation is solved when they participate in extracurricular at schools. Moreover, these things make students more satisfied with their schools. According to an ST university survey, 70% of the respondents said they could be more outgoing by participating in clubs or sports. This is because students have to interact with other people when they join in the activities. This behavior made them learn social or communication skills. They also added that enlarging their networks by the activities makes attending colleges more valuable. Therefore, the activities can help not only making friends but also increasing satisfaction with attending schools.

In conclusion, colleges should give a lot of financial investment on sports and social activities like academic factors. The reason behind this as follows. Students can decline their stress because they can enjoy doing the activities without worries about their school works and the refreshing mental condition helps do the works much more efficiently. Also, they can expand their network by joining in the activities since when doing them, students have chances to exchange with other people.