Do you agree or disagree with the following statement At universities and colleges sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support? Different people will give different answers to this question according to their own concerns, knowledge, and educational backgrounds, however, when it comes to me, I believe that classes and libraries are much more important than sport and social activities for the following three main reasons.

In the first place, I would have to say that there is not the fact that the majority students spend their time in the classrooms and libraries throughout their time at school. Students often enroll a college or a university with the goals of expanding their knowledge and developing their professional skills. Students typically gather in places like the classrooms and library in order study, communicate with one another in order to complete their assignments and gain some knowledge from their teachers. In my point of view, students consider the sports and social activities as entertaining and sometimes time-wasting. So, I strongly believe that the libraries and classrooms should receive more financially support in compare of sports and social activities.

In the second place, there are many opportunities for physical and social activities outside of schools. several gyms and clubs are located off campus that provide students with facilities; however, students are required to pay fee in order to use these facilities. For example, I was going Toastmaster Club for a while with aim of gathering donation for homeless people, I just attended there in just one day for a week. Because I believe that social and physical activities are required for everyone, but they are not as important as learning.

The third place, the books are stored in the libraries which also house other resources necessary for academic goals, such as computers, printers, and other reading materials. All universities are required to keep all their systems up to date and provide students the most recent version of books. For example, I am a doctoral student in mechanical engineering at Missouri S&T, where I also work as a research assistant. In order to get results from my research, I have to read a large number of papers and use a variety of software. In order to use software, I make use of campus systems; therefore, the university need to purchase licenses for each software program. Also, not all papers are available for free, but our school has a system set up wherein we can send in requests for articles that we want to read, and then the school will buy those articles and mail them back to us. All of these things cost a significant amount of money, and it would be unfair to allocate the same budget to sports, social activities, and academic interests.