Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It has been debated for a long time what is the priority of the universities. From a personal viewpoint, schools should spend the most money on academics rather than activities. There are two reasons for it, which will be discussed in the following essay.

First of all, high-quality classes are so important, as this the foundation of students' further study and work. Providing a decent amount of financial support can make sure departments can employ great professors to teach, guaranteeing youngsters to learn what they need. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I was lucky enough to study in one of the top colleges in my country. The board of my school pours billions of dollars into academics so that we have best professors. In each semester, we have visiting experts who give us brilliant insights into the latest development in my field. As a result, I got an excellent GPA inspired by my tutors, and now I enjoy a successful career as an engineer. For this reason, class education deserves more budgets of a school.

Secondly, another responsibility of institutions is conducting research, which is costly. Not only the experiment facilities are expensive, but students also need scholarships to be motivated. For instance, my cousin's laboratory in CQU is supported by the government. With the superior equipment and abundant resources, they have got hundreds of patents granted, which gains a high reputation for the university and contributes enormously to the society. Without financially backing, they would not have the chance to get such achievements. Moreover, for students who participate in those research projects, they are also well-paid, as enables them to improve their living standard. Accordingly, paying enough attention to academics and classes is the bedrock of scientific research, which is a driving force behind the society.

Admittedly, amusement activities are also necessary, but they should be put in the inferior place than classes. Sports and socials are good things for students to keep in great health condition, mentally and physically. However, this should not be implemented at the expense of study. Afterward, only by learning enough skills can they survive in today's society.

In conclusion, academics are the most prominent part of institutions. It is because classes are the cornerstone of skills learning, and they encourage students to research and discover more as well.