Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Universities, like any other institutions have a limited budget and an immense list of areas to boost. Whether the universities should spend money in social and sports events, though, it is a matter of intense debate. As far as I am concerned, I firmly believe that schools should focus on updating their libraries and improve their classes quality. This position is based on two main reasons, which will be analyzed thoroughly below.

Firstly, the social aim of any college is offering the best educational program possible and graduating solid professional. When youngsters go to a university, they have a goal of become into a prestigious professional, no attend to a party or sport game, for that exist pubs and stadiums. A convincing example of that, was the decision made by my university one year before I graduated. The university direction accorded sponsor a sport festival for the fifty anniversary of the school. To make a long history short, the cost of that festival was so elevated, that the director had to trim funds in areas like the library or the housing, to obtain the money needed. As a result, those areas had to reduce their services and the complains from the student did not delay in arriving, forcing the event cancellation.

Secondly, to count with modern equipment for classes and updated libraries is the nucleus of a successful educational process. It means, that exist direct correlation between the classes quality and the material available with the professional graduated quality. For example, when I was a freshman university student, the university made a giant effort to inaugurate a new laboratory of science with the most modern technology in electronics and computing. Consequently, in only a few months professors claimed the clear improvement in the level reached in the researches made by the pupils in those areas. Furthermore, the prestige of the college increase drastically, which made possible find new sponsors willing to donate funds to finance other less productive areas.

To sum it up, I am of the opinion that the university should put all its capital and efforts in its classes and library services. this is because the main goal of any university is to guarantee an exceptional preparation of its student and because exist a relation between the equipment quality and services available for the student and the learning process quality.