Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Universities should require every graduation students to take public speaking courses. Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

Nowadays, the importance of providing more opportunities for students to learn a social skill is increasingly recognized. In today’s society, whether university should add a public speaking course has raised a hot debate, while I guess every university should require the students to attend public speaking courses. Giving two explanations below, I suggest my point of view that it is important and necessary to have such courses before leaving the university.

Firstly, the significance of skills like doing a presentation or public speech makes it necessary to offer a public speaking course, in particular for graduation students. Students are language users who the most frequently present their opinion to the public, and who often need to enhance their fundamental skills to improve the quality of their presentation. Take my friend John as an example. I am pretty sure that he could not cope with difficult tasks because he is annoyed with doing a final presentation or speech in front of the whole university and especially his favorite girl. So, to deal with this kind of disability, he found someone can instruct him to be confident—more exactly, how to give a speech. He was glad he found a good instructor and he finally became sort of expert on presentation, although it took pretty expensive. According to him, he was confused why the university hadn’t set up public speaking course which was a pretty useful course that could help students like him to finish those uneasy tasks. The importance of establishing this course was obvious and have to be paid attention to.

In addition, for graduation students, the vitality and demands of setting up this course seems become serious, which makes it more necessary require students to take public speaking courses. Graduation students always need to share their researches and perspectives to partners, their professors and the paper judges, and that can be a problem if they are not ready to show themselves on the stage. However, many graduation students don’t have time to take part in practices of this social skills, or their laziness reduce their enthusiasm. That gives a chance for universities to request them, insisting a kind of policy that they have to take such courses; they will ignore the importance of improving their ability of presentation otherwise, and this condition will also harm their scholar.

Consequently, the importance of possessing the skill of public speaking and establishing courses teaching this and the necessary of requiring students to take the courses speak for themselves.