14. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Universities should require every graduation students to take public speaking courses. Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

In modern education, universities are becoming more and more focused on students’ integrated development, including social skills. In some universities, graduation students must take public speaking courses. From my perspective, this requirement is very reasonable and necessary.

Firstly, public speaking courses can teach students how to express themselves clearly and conceivably in future career. Every students will finally step into their own posts of duty. During the work, no one is able to be solitary since people must cooperate and associate with their colleagues to complete mutual projects. In the process of working together, communication and public speaking is necessary. For example, there will be weekly group meeting and monthly summing-up meeting in the working group as usual. And every meeting is an important occasion for an employee to report his work and demonstrate his working ability. Only the student who expresses his opinion orderly and confidently in public can behave well in such occasions, and gain better opportunities in future career.

Secondly, taking public speaking courses can improve students’ personality. Many students are too introverted to communicate with others. Some may argue that different people have their unique characteristics and should not be changed. The reason why they believe so is that they did not realize the importance of speaking for people to fit in the society. Actually, excessive shyness is a defect of personality which will become an obstacle for people to integrate into the society. In public speaking courses, students will do speeches and presentations, which can help them overcome the inner fear of speaking and communicating with people. Thus, students can be more easy-going and have better personality.

Thirdly, students can enlarge their interpersonal circle by taking public speaking courses. In general, students who take this kind of public compulsory courses are from different majors. As a result, students can recognize new friends when they do group discussion or finish group tasks together in class. Meeting classmates from different majors, students can not only improve their interpersonal relationship, but also learn about more academic fields by chatting with their friends to broad their horizon.

All in all, in my opinion, it is beneficial for students to take public speaking course and universities should list it as compulsory course.