It is better to finish a project completely and then do another project than do two or more projects at the same time.

In the wake of greater intensity of modern work and study, people are busy dealing with a variety of projects every day. The approaches to tackle projects vary from one person to another. Some prefer to handle the projects one by one, while others are big fans of multi-tasking. From my perspective, the ability to concentrate on one project at a time means a lot to us. In the following paragraphs, I am going to elaborate my point of view.

Firstly, focusing on a single project at a time is more time-saving. Since we devote our mind to the sole task, the time on converting our thoughts among different projects can be eliminated. In addition to that, we do not have to check the earlier part of the projects and load the progress. For instance, last semester, I needed to write three proposals belonging to different courses at the same time. I chose to finish them one by one, while my roommate got down to them in the meantime. Finally, I got my work done before the deadline, but she did not hand in the proposals on time because she wasted too much time on changing her train of thoughts from one course to another. So, once we immerse ourselves in a task, we can reach high working efficiency and get the work done quickly.

Secondly, single-tasking can lead to better results. As we all know, our ability to solve problems and our energy to think deeply are limited, which means it is easier for people to meet high working quality with no disturbance around. Supposed that there are several projects waiting for us to complete simultaneously, it will certainly impose huge pressure on us and make us slide into chaos. Correspondingly, our attention will be easily torn apart thus making us unable to concentrate on the current task. Consequently, it will not only lead to low work efficiency but also bring about plenty of mistakes difficult to be discovered and corrected.

What’s more, doing one project at a time is conducive to people’s positive state of mind. According to our experience, completing a task can enhance our sense of achievement and satisfaction, thus endow us with a cheerful mood which makes our more energetic to finish the subsequent projects. However, during multi-tasking, we usually work for a long time but are not able to totally complete any project. If that is the case, our motivation, morale, and enthusiasm will gradually wear thin. As a result, single-tasking can better help us with an optimistic attitude. In a nutshell, people can work more efficiently and with higher quality by doing projects one after another than by multi-tasking.