Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When people solve problems as a group, they come up with better solutions that if they were to try to solve the problem individually. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teamwork is one of the key components when it comes to solving a problem. Problems can be both at the personal and professional levels, but solving them as a united team makes it easier to get the problem rectified. In my opinion, when people solve problems as a group, they come up with better solutions that if they were to try to solve the problem individually.

Last year I faced a market query from one of my clients in Africa. One of the company's product was on the verge of marketing but due to some lack of information, it was not given final approval. I discussed the problem with one of my colleague and he suggested that we should discuss it with fellow colleagues in the department since according to us the product was submitted in its perfect shape. To my surprise, when we discussed it with the other team members we got multiple inputs from each and everyone and I was able to figure out my mistake. Therefore, the teamwork helped me to get the product registered and also the client appreciated our response for the lacking information. Sometimes, we are not able to see our errors since we prepare the responses to the best of our abilities. At this particular moment, we should always get the final submission checked or approved by two-three members of the team so as to not face a problem.

Recently, my friend had changed his job. In the new organization, he was given a project which he had to finish within two days time. He was not aware much about the core idea of the project since he joined recently, but since he was known team player, he managed to gather a team of four employees and was able to complete the project. If he would have thought of doing it all by himself, he was sure he wouldn't be able to complete it. Also, another team member's inputs were equally acknowledged by him and when he presented his work he made sure that every individual member was credited. This teamwork ability was appreciated by everybody in the organization and he was acknowledged for acting towards company's benefit rather thinking of getting appreciated individually.

A problem I faced last month was that I had to organize a wedding anniversary party for my closest friend. I knew that being a wedding planner I will organize it pretty well. However, on the day of the function, the bakery shop refused to provide the cake at the last moment. I was so tensed and shared the problem with my other friends as my whole team was busy with preparations. One of my friends suggested a bakery shop and finally, we were able to get the cake as desired. This was a problem I had encountered on the spot, but it was a collective team effort since my mind alone stopped working and my friend took the charge and solved the problem. Two minds can work out better for a problem rather single mind in a tense situation.

In conclusion, I believe that problem solving when in a group offer's much better solution rather thinking alone.