Do you agree or disagree with the statement "Should college be free for everyone"? Give reasons and examples to support your answers.

Education is the most essential part of anybody's life. It imbibes good culture, value, and knowledge among people. To impart knowledge we definitely require resources, therefore cost is always a necessity. But certain sections of society can not afford to study. Therefore, I am in two minds about the statement that should education be free for everyone. It deserves an open mind and a balanced exploration of the potential benefits, drawbacks, and alternatives.

The benefits of having a free education is that firstly, students would be able to focus more on their studies rather than worrying about how to scrape together enough funds for each upcoming school term. As a result, more of them might graduate on time, ready to take on important jobs in their communities. Secondly, people would have more freedom to contribute their talents, try new ideas, and pursue the lives they want if they didn't have to start off in debt or stay stuck in a low-wage job. That could lead to happier people. And happier people could lead to a happier, more prosperous nation as a whole.

With benefits come drawback too like with more people choosing to attend public colleges because of their tuition-free status, many schools might have to create wait lists or expand the ones they already have. State budgets could become strained, which might lead to cuts and decreased access to the programs that students want to take. Many students would still have to borrow money for their living expenses as well as for books and supplies. So they wouldn't get to leave school completely debt-free. Students might take their college education less seriously if they don't have to pay for it. So graduation numbers might drop, or the people who do graduate might not be as well prepared for the workforce. Students may not learn to become as financially literate or independent as they should be, choosing instead to stay dependent on government programs whenever possible. If a lot more people are able to earn college degrees, then the value of those degrees could decrease. And that could lead to a rising number of workers who are underemployed based on their qualifications.

Alternatives to best education can be investing in a better system of youth-development and community-development programs. Discouraging the distribution of merit-based financial aid to wealthy students and using that money to provide more opportunities for poor and middle-class students instead. Establishing better incentives for employers to provide more extensive on-the-job training rather than depending on the higher education system to supply fully qualified workers.

Therefore, in my opinion, education should be considered as a whole system with keeping all implications at mind wherein cost is involved.