Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Career selection is one of the essential parts of an individual's life. It shapes the future and brings sustainability in one's life. However, in my opinion, in the past, it was not easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

In the past, parents were not much updated as compared to parent now. They used to read job posting via newspaper/ or some article and would ask their kids to prepare accordingly for the same. Whereas nowadays parents are more educated and tech-friendly. They come to know about various jobs through online job portals, via friends in various organizations, many take help from various career counselors to help identify the best possible career for a secured future. Previously, the job careers were also limited and education was not that vast. People choose their career fields based on the amount of income they will fetch from a particular job. They preferred doing a one-year diploma or just pass higher secondary exams to get jobs based on that. This was again a pressure area, since based on the type of degree it was difficult to get a proper authenticated job in the same career field, rather most landed up doing some temporary jobs to earn a healthy living for that particular time. It was not easy to identify a career or job which was secure rather one would just land up doing one work or the other to earn a proper means for living a life. The job was there but not in a desired direction and satisfaction.

Technology has advanced a lot now, as compared to earlier days. One can sit in front of his/her computer/laptop and submit a resume online to fetch a job. Moreover, most of the interview rounds are conducted via telephone/mobile whereas in earlier days people used to go in person to most of the places for their interviews. They used to wait long hours for their turn since the number of candidates was more. This was time-consuming as well as draining for people as many would face interviews by late evenings.

The career options available today are varied and the parents are more friendly towards the career selection. They don't pressurize much on securing a government job which was a trend in the past. Rather, they support their children in varied fields of career selection like one can become a singer, dancer, pilot, environmentalist, agriculturalist, media reporter, statistician, food engineer etc. Cost of education was also one of the factors that most of the people were not able to select a career of their choice and would land up doing petty jobs which bring no satisfaction, hence less future security.

Therefore, in earlier days it was not easy to identify a secured job for a successful future since the peers were not updated much which in turn put a lot of pressure on people to identify best career choices.