Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Development of technology has led to an increase in the number of systematic and logical approaches to instruct students. While there are multiple advantages for teachers to offer group projects to the students, I believe that students are likely to learn to a large extent by conducting the projects individually. This essay will explore a couple of reasons supporting my perspective in the following paragraphs.

First of all, taking responsibility for an entire project, students are bound to evaluate all the aspects of the tasks to come up with innovative and pragmatic ideas. To put it in other words, due to the fact that the students are aware of their role in delivering a competent piece of work, they will put much effort in exploring the distinct sides of the problem to find the finest solutions. Thus, they will learn the materials they were to conduct research on effectively. For instance, my brother should hand in a project on his biology course at the end of the semester. Last week, he proceeded to the library near our house to explore non-identical resources addressing the contrasting facets of his subject. Thus, he had to develop a map for himself to consider the different questions he was to find a response to. This was extremely advantageous for my brother since he could examine the skill of critical thinking and raise his alertness about finding the distinct issues related to one special topic. Besides, he could gain a solid body of knowledge about the subject he is working on.

Secondly, regarding this fact that students are alone while accomplishing a duty, they have no choice but to carry out the complete project on their own resulting in a higher engagement in the various parts of a project. On the other hand, students, in a group project, divide the diverse sections of a project among all members of the team and focus on their parts separately, which means that each person has an overall understanding of his own section but not the whole project. I assume that a personal example can shed light on this notion. A couple of years ago, I studied a course of bridge engineering at university in which I was assigned to do my final project individually. Thus, I should divide the project requirements into three categories: finding the supreme type of the bridge for a given environment on the Internet, exploiting a worthwhile software to design the most efficient structure, looking for a way to write my report with the least quantity of flaws and so forth. Therefore, completing that project provided me with remarkable knowledge that I could not gain otherwise.

On the whole, taking all the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I believe that finishing a project solely is more beneficial for students compared to the group projects. Not only, students must assess the different aspects of a topic themselves, but they also ought to undertake all the sections of a project containing many challenging tasks.