Do you agree or disagree with the following statement When teachers assign projects on which students must work together the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects

Among educational systems teaching and learning process could be done in different manners. Some believe that when students study and do assignments in groups, they grab subjects in an efficient manner, which I concur with. I believe that in this way students will learn from each other, and also there will be a competition within a group, which will encourage students to study harder. In the following I will elucidate my rationale by advancing these two reasons.

First, it is an intrinsic characteristic of humans to learn from each other. During history, it was proved that people have a tendency to imitate others because they will not need much energy to experience new concepts. It is true for students who are working as a group. In a group, different members have different skills; therefore, interacting together gives students an opportunity to attain knowledge form each other. For instance, a recent study undertaken by the University of Tehran demonstrated that humans learn 10 percent more when they work and study within a group rather than when they try alone.

Second, working in a group induce people to work harder. Always, there is a competition in a group that members want to prove themselves, therefore as a group everyone will do his or her best. However, when doing some assignments alone, one can become so overwhelmed and frustrated. For example, when I was in high school, my chemistry teacher gave us an assignment that was so hard and confusing. As a result, nobody among my classmates were able to do it. Therefore, after a week when we were supposed to give the assignment, our teacher got surprised because all of the students did not do that. Then, our teacher divided us to groups in order to do the assignment. The results was perfect because as groups we tried our best and everyone got involved in the assignment because each of us wanted to prove ourselves to our teacher. This example shows how working in a group can encourage students to do their best.

In brief, all aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that working together is so effective than doing some assignments alone. This is because in a group people will learn from each other, and also as individuals they will do their best in order to prove themselves.