Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Would you prefer to take courses taught by professors with whom you have already had other classes during your past years of study, or would you prefer to take courses with professors whose classes you have never taken before? Why?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

Understanding classes is an essential part of being a student. All students need to understand their courses to utilize the knowledge they offer. There have been debates about whether it is better to take classes with a familiar professor or a new lecturer. I believe it is more efficient to take classes with professors that we had other classes with. I will explain my reasonings in the following essay.

First, every professor's has a different way of evaluating their students. When the student is familiar with a professor they can utilize their knowledge about the professor's expectations to recieve a better score. For example, I took four different courses with the same lecturer in a span of four semesters. At the end of my first semester with professor Akbari I had an understanding of when he gave assignments, how he scored them, his style in giving questions, and the parts of the lessons he deemed crucial. Therefore, I knew how to study and how to turn in my assignments to recieve satisfactory results. Hence, in the next semester when I took another class with him I was the favourite student that knew how to do assignments and got good results.

Second, each professor has a distinctive way of teaching the class. If the students are used to the way the class is operated and how the materials are taught, they would have minimal issues understanding concepts. For example, in my first semester with professor Akbari I had no idea about when to listen and when to take notes, I could barely manage taking notes and understanding the lecture. Afterward, when I took another class with professor Akbari I knew when to listen and when to take notes, I was the fastest in my class to understand the points of a lecture and asked the most important questions. Based on my experience taking classes with a familiar professor can aid you in understanding the lectures better.

In conclusion, even though it is good to take classes with multiple lecturers it is better to take courses with a familiar professor than a new one. Since it is easier to understand the lessons and recieve better scores based on the knowledge we have about the professor's style.