Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Human beings are social animals we need social interactions to survive. During our time in the society we meet and befriend different people. I believe, the ability to maintain precious friendships is the most important factor for having a happy life. I will explore my reasonings in the following essay.

My main reason for my view on friendship is that, long time fiends are alot more helpful in times of need. A friend that has known you for long and stayed by your side through thick and thin is a lot more precious than one made easily. Of course this is not to say if a friendship is made easily it will break apart as easily, however, a companion that has been there for a long time may offer a significant amount of peace of mind. For example, during my highschool days when I was sick for a long time it was my friend of three year Parto that helped me catch up with the class. Coincidentally I had a friend that I had made during that year, but she barely offered to help. This situation makes me believe a long time friend can be of more assisstance in times of need. Knowing someone is there to help will lead to a lot less stress and make you happier.

Second, in long periods of time people will get to know each other better, trust each other, understand the complications each face and be helpful in facing them. Longtime friends understand you better. When your feeling down they may even understand you before their told of your problems and can console you better. A long time friend is someone that you know very well you know if they are trustworthy or not leading to more assurance when connecting with them.For example, my father is known amongst his friends as someone trustworthy on many occasions I have seen 30 year long friends of my father entrusting him with enormous amounts of money this shows that they trust him and can rely on him. This action can very well give them a sense of relief knowing theres somebody they can trust.

based on the above reasonings I believe that having a small circle of trustworthy and understanding friends and maintaining relationships with them will lead to a happiness and help you relax.