Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer Be sure to use your own words Do not use memorized examples.

Working in groups and teams, is an important factor in life. No matter what organization or company we join we need to work in teams at one point. Therefore, ther has been extensive debate about whether it is more efficient to evaluate students on their work separately or as a whole. In my view, professors need to assign students grades based on individual contribution to the project.

First, often times there is one person exhausted after a project. There are many cases that groupmates rely on only one or two members to complete and present the assignments and even gain the same score as the one who did most if not all of the project. This leads to exhaustion of one members while others enjoy a free ride to a good grade. For example, in my last year of university we had a group project for technical languages class. All my teammates other than one anounced that they couldn't help much because their english was not good and all of the work even making the powerpoint fell on me and my other groupmate. After finishing the assignment I was totally exhasted which led me to falling behind on some other assignments I had. Therefore, I belive that when groupmates are graded together much of the work may be done by one person and exhaust them while there would be no tangible awards for their hardwork.

Second, responsibility is an important factor in our life. In the society it is essential to take care of our own assignments because in workplace we are evaluated based on individual results even in teams. By grading group assignments by taking each individuals contributions into consideration schools can train students for their future. For example, A friend of mine always relied on her group mates to earn a passable grade. After graduation she started working as an intern, and was given an assignment to work on as a team with other interns. Due to competition between coworkers nobody covered for her and the leader of the group revealed to the chief that she had minimal participation. Hence, she wasn't hired and had to look for a new job after her internship finished. Based on this experience I believe that if grades were assigned individualy she would have been used to working effectively in a group and could have gotten hired.

In conclusion, I believe grades need to be assigned individully based on each persons contributions.